SYMPATHY FOR THE DEVIL?

From my book, “Unlocking Creation”, this is an excerpt from the chapter called “Angels Among Us”:

The subject of angels has always been a popular one for TV shows, movies and popular music. Back in the 1950s, there were no shortage of songs like “Earth Angel,” “Devil or Angel” and “My Special Angel.” Later, there were other great songs about angels like “Kiss an Angel Good Morning” and the classic “Angel of the Morning.” On TV, who could forget “Touched By An Angel?” And on the big screen there was John Travolta starring in “Michael,” a humorous movie about a lovable archangel (uh-boy). Needless to say, Hollywood and those who create the popular movies and music that we know and love saw the subject of angels as a way to make the cash registers ring.

That was the world I grew up in. I was born into a Catholic family and from my earliest memories, I believed in God and that there were unseen (to the human eye) spiritual forces at work, tugging us in one direction or the other. There was never a doubt in my mind. I remember when I was little and there was a thunderstorm and me and my sisters were afraid, my Dad would say, “It’s alright. That is just the angels bowling”. And yep, I bought it. It did not seem unreasonable to me that there were invisible beings and that they might like to bowl (lol). My point is, I was comfortable even as a child, that there was more than just what my eyes could see. I never questioned it for one second, and I still don’t.

It seemed pretty obvious to me, then, that if God truly exists and His angels are as real as the nose on your face, it should not be surprising that the devil and his demons are real, too. And if they are real and active, in the unseen realm that surrounds us, the consequences of their existence could be pretty damaging to our safety and security, both in this world and whatever comes next. They would certainly be nothing to play around with, because like God Himself, these evil entities would “play for keeps”, I suspect.

So I have to admit, knowing what I know now and based on what I believed my whole life, I am more than suprised…shocked actually…that for as much as people were infatuated with the concept of angels (agents of good) on TV, in the movies and in popular music only a few decades ago, many more seem to be even more infatuated, nowadays, with “the dark side” or things that would be called “evil” not all that long ago.

Just look at some of these titles. On TV, there’s “Reaper”, “Constantine”, “Legion” and even “Lucifer”. No veiled meanings there. They just put it right out there. On the big screen, there was “The Devil’s Advocate” and in 2016 there was even a movie called “Devil”.  And of course, modern music is chock full of references to this Prince of Darkness, too. It’s everywhere, OK?

Now I know in the Bible, Satan is called “the prince of the air” and he certainly has been given power here on Earth (and the airwaves are part of it, for sure) to tempt and deceive and try to lure us away from seeking God. And sure, he has been doing that since the Garden of Eden, but if your eyes have been open at all lately, you would likely agree these deceptive efforts and evil activities are certainly accelerating at an amazing rate and that there are real life consequences from all this “advertisement and glorification” of the dark side. People’s lives are being effected and so are our children and potentially future generations, as well, and not in a good way.

In 1968, the Rolling Stones wrote and recorded a song for their “Beggars Banquet” album called “Sympathy For The Devil”…with the opening line, “Please allow me to introduce myself..” And while that was certainly not the first time Satan has tried to make himself known, over the last fifty years since that song came out, I would say he has been making himself known a lot more. There surely seems to be a lot more “sympathy for the devil” in our society, these days.

Check out some of the lesser known words to this song..pretty prophetic..if you ask me.

Just as every cop is a criminal…and all the sinners saints

As heads is tails…Just call me Lucifer

‘Cause I’m in need of some restraint

These words sound like they could be taken right from the pages of USA Today or Time Magazine, here in 2017, do they not?  Sadly, however, the “domino effect” of all this promotion of the evil one has had an even more tangible effect. They have now actually erected a replica of the “Arch Of Ba’al” (pronounced bay-el) on US soil, right in the middle of New York City, not far from Ground Zero. Have you seen this on your local or national news? No?? Gee, I wonder why not. You’d think maybe folks would be upset if they knew that someone was setting up a monument to a false god (aka the devil himself) in the heart of America’s largest and most populated city? At least, I would certainly hope so. Wouldn’t you?

Folks , seriously, we really need to wake up and think about the consequences of what we are doing in this country. When you are openly setting up monuments to the most prolific false god of the Old Testament in your major cities, you are really asking for trouble. We are in effect, ditching the blessings of God Almighty, to cozy up to his arch-enemy. And when you do that, your days are numbered. Just ask Israel. They’ve been there and done that. But hey, that could never happen here, right? Never say never.

One of the interesting and most overlooked byproducts of “not believing in God” is that if He doesn’t exist, then neither does His enemy, the devil. Therefore there are no negative consequences connected with “flirting with the dark side.” It’s all just fantasy, right? What’s the harm in that?  Ok folks, if that were true, then that would be fine, I guess. But I am here to tell you, that is exactly what the deceiver wants you to think. If a person doesn’t believe that Hell is real, or the devil or God (for that matter), Satan’s job just got a whole lot easier. He just has to wait for them to die and their eternal fate is sealed.

The famous author, C. S. Lewis, spent most of his life as a devout atheist, before finding a reason to believe in Jesus Christ as his Savior and then becoming one of the most prolific and beloved Christian writers of the modern era.

He wrote in his classic book, The Screwtape Letters, “There is a legend about Satan and his imps planning their strategy for attacking the world that’s hearing the message of salvation. One of the demons says, “I’ve got the plan, master. When I get on earth and take charge of people’s thinking, I’ll tell them there’s no heaven.”

The devil responds, “Ah, they’ll never believe that. This Book of Truth is full of messages about the hope of heaven through sins forgiven. They won’t believe that.”

On the other side of the room another says, “I’ve got the plan. I’ll tell ‘em there’s no hell.”

No good,” he says. “Jesus, while He was on earth, talked more of hell than of heaven. They know in their hearts that their wrong will have to be taken care of in some way.”

And one brilliant little imp in the back stood up and said, “Then I know the answer. I’ll just tell them there’s no hurry.” 

Perfect. You see, if the devil can simply keep you from believing in God (and that is pretty easy to do if you don’t believe He exists)…he wins. GAME OVER

There is an old saying, “Choosing not to believe in God does not exempt one from the consequences of unbelief.”

Just as with Noah and the Ark, there came a time when the Lord commanded him to close the door. The Bible also teaches that, for each us, whether we are alive when Jesus comes back or not, time will eventually run out and the door to salvation will be closed.

The prophet Isaiah said it this way:

Seek the LORD while He may be found; call upon him while He is near; [Isaiah 55:6]

C. S. Lewis taught us that the devil wants us to think there is no hurry.

Noah taught us that we can “miss the boat.”

Don’t let that happen to you.

Leave a Reply

