The Choosing Of The Twelve

QUICK UPDATE: As of this past Thursday, I have received the first batch of books, “Unlocking Creation”, just a handful of paperbacks for my family and some dear friends. I have to confess, it was pretty amazing to actually hold a book in my hand bearing my name as the author, for the first time. It is something I have wanted to do for years, but was not sure I had the wherewithal or the credentials to write one. Apparently, God thought otherwise and I am so thankful for the opportunity to step out in this exciting new direction. And I can only hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

But for this week’s post, while the final pieces of the puzzle are dropping into place before the official release of the book, I was thinking about this very pivotal Presidential election that is now less than a month away. So, I felt led to tell a true life, personal story that happened to me as a very young Christian (spiritually and physically), just prior to another very pivotal Presidential election…..the 1980 election between Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan.

As the story goes, it had only been a year (almost to the day) since I had accepted Christ in November of 1979, and we were now only days away from the election of November 1980. Both Carter and Reagan had been promoting themselves publically, and in their books, as God-fearing men of deep faith and conviction. So for me, I was torn (having been raised in a staunchly Democratic family) as to which candidate stood for the right things for America, going forward, and which candidate would be most likely include God in the decision-making processes of being President.

So as I sat watching the news that evening, I felt prompted to pray and ask the Lord for His guidance in the matter. At this point in my Christian journey, I was not very well versed in the Bible or what Scriptures could be found where….and certainly not all that equipped in sensing God’s still small voice. But for some reason I felt prompted to turn to John Chapter 6.  Not all that sure what I might find, the first thing I noticed was that John 6 is a pretty long chapter…(oh great…I thought…this will be like finding a needle in a haystack).

I’m sure at this point, you may thinking, “What in the world does the 1980 Presidential election have to do with the choosing of the twelve disciples?”  I assure you, I was wondering the same thing.  Jesus had just gone on a bit of a rant about “the eating of His flesh and the drinking of His blood.” The number of disciples walking with him at the time of this rant was dropping steadily as He talked. When it seemed only the twelve remained, Jesus asked, “Do you not want to leave, as well.”  Peter replied, in typical Peter fashion, “To whom shall we go, Lord, for you have the words of eternal life.”  

I still got nothin’ at that point.  I’m thinking I must have misunderstood or something.

Then, I come to verse 70 (told you it was a long chapter) and Jesus says, “Did I not choose you, the twelve?  And yet, one of you is a devil.” Not sure if I was sitting in a chair at that moment. But if I was, it’s amazing that I didn’t fall out of it.  I was floored, to say the least.

Now I am not just torn, I am also confused. Could it be that the Lord was trying to show me that the winner of the 1980 race, whoever he was, would turn out to be evil?  I was pretty sure that was not right, because both Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan were known to be pretty decent men, politics aside.  There had to be something else, maybe something bigger than the election, itself.

To be honest, it took a few days to make sense of it all.  But it began to look as though there was a larger point being made.  I started to understand that just because God chooses someone to lead a nation for a season, that does not mean it is a good thing. Israel begged and pleaded with Samuel to find them a king, so they could be like the other nations. God reluctantly granted their wish, and Saul became Israel’s first king. I think it is fair to say that things did not turn out well, especially when it came to those pesky Philistines. But eventually, Saul’s reign came to a bitter end and David was raised up as King of Israel.

The point is, I think there may be a profound message for America in this story.  If a nation turns it’s back on God, and rebels against His ways, the chances of that nation finding a godly leader are slim and none, unless that nation repents and turns back to a God.

****(For the record, this blog post was written on Friday morning…before the new Trump tape and Hillary’s Wall Street speeches were leaked to the media…..with this update being added on Saturday night.  How’s that for timely writing?)****

Oh, don’t get me wrong…I fully intend to vote.  I think it is vitally important that all Americans, especially those who call themselves Christians, make their voice heard. The future of our republic and our individual rights depend on it.

As I see it, unless this country turns from it’s rebellion against God and His ways, we can elect Hillary, Billary, Donald Trump or Donald Duck…and it won’t make a bit of difference.

Want to make America great again? The solution is not a Democrat or a Republican.

What we need is a REVIVAL.  

I believe God says it best in 2 Chronicles 7:14 KJV:

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

True, these words were written thousands of years ago, but could they be any more fitting than they are today, in 2016?  I think not.

One thought on “The Choosing Of The Twelve

Leave a Reply

