The funny thing about how and why this book came into existence, over the last few months, is that if you would have talked to me back in May, I would have made no mention of any plans to write a book. Oh sure, I had thoughts about writing one for years, but there was no real plan in place to act on those thoughts, at least at this time in my life.

I had taken notice of the fact, however, that over the last year or so, I had found myself looking at the beautiful things our Creator has made a bit differently. I was not merely seeing the physical attributes of it all (which is incredible enough, for sure), but wondering why God chose to make such incredible and complex things the way that He did. I found myself on many occasions, looking a bit deeper to see if maybe there was a spiritual reason for doing certain things certain ways, as if to point us back to Himself, or to some essential “life lesson” that would help us on our earthly adventure. Or just maybe God was operating at such a level of genius and creativity, that no matter how deeply I looked or how many questions I asked, I would never be able to make sense of it.

Nevertheless, my curiosity sensors seemed to be going off at a pretty regular pace, and there seemed to be a common thread to what I was discovering. It was becoming apparent, or at least quite possible, that God did not just create the physical universe and everything in it in a deliberate, logical, “matter-of-fact” sort of way, where He made things “as needed”, one by one as if the creation of one piece of the puzzle led to a need for another (as with Adam and then Eve), without a real blueprint or pre-determined plan.

But truthfully, that is just not who God is. He does nothing without a plan, or a distinct purpose. No, He did not physically create first, with the spiritual correlations coming later as mankind began to see, learn and evaluate. Rather, it seems clear that the spiritual truths were at the heart of the creation process, with the physical manifestations being designed in such a way as to reveal God’s true nature. Our part in all of it is to live, love, breath, enjoy and learn.

But we should not lose sight of the fact that our Maker wants us to discover how to “make our way back to Him”, in the process. He desires to be found and He designed us with a need to seek Him. Could that be the result of a random occurrence, or better yet, a very long line of them like knocking over one domino that leads to thousands of other ones falling?  When pigs fly.  It was not just “intelligent design”, but “intentional design”, if you ask me.

However, process of writing this book has revealed something else, as well.  It would have been impossible for me to write this book five years ago, or even one year ago. The soup had not simmered enough and the wine had not aged enough, until now. Timing is everything. Sometimes you don’t see what you see until you see it, even though it may have been there all the time.

Five years ago, I was newly retired from Ford Motor and my Mom and Dad were still alive. At that point in my life, at age 57, no one near and dear to me had ever passed away. My parents were not well at the time, so their passing in August 2012 was not a surprise. But as much as I was aware of what was coming, and as much as I felt I was prepared for the inevitable, I was not.

After Mom and Dad passed, and the reality of it all set in, I found myself having some issues that I had never experienced before, with strange thoughts and emotions running through my brain, which I did not understand at the time.  After talking to a grief counselor a couple of times, one day she asked me, “So, having gone through all of this for awhile now, what would you say was “the gift” you received?” She believed that part of what comes with our trials, is a gift we can learn from, if we choose to. After thinking about the question for a moment, I said, “Well, I guess I would say it has definitely brought me closer to God.” She just smiled, gave me a thumbs up and said, “Bingo.”

Sometimes life has a way of colliding with creativity. And when it happens at the right time and in the right way, the results can be pretty amazing. That is what I believe happened with this book. Surprisingly, as I was re-reading, rewriting and editing it, getting it ready for publishing, I found myself wondering where it all came from. It was almost as if someone else had actually written it, and not me.

Imagine that……why am I not surprised?


Thanks so much for stopping by !!!

BOB PALUMBO

Leave a Reply

